Avocado, Cream Cheese & Salsa…Wontons?

photo (5)                         image

image (1)                        image (2)

Another altered recipe found via Pinterest! I took this and made it with wonton wrappers (found near the tofu) instead of puff pastry, because, well, I couldn’t find puff pastry at the schmancy Brooklyn gourmet grocery store.

(Quick tangent – this is a common problem here in good ol’ Brooklyn. You can find every type of olive, every type of soup, several versions of organic cucumber at a Brooklyn grocery store, but even at the ones that seem more “regular” or “suburban,” you still can’t find things like Pillsbury puff pastry or those little circles of cookie dough with the pictures on them…maybe it’s a Pillsbury thing?)

Anyway, these are insanely easy to make. Preheat to 400 degrees. Lay down your wontons, and add a dollop of mashed avocado, a dollop of cream cheese and a dollop of salsa. Then put another wonton on top and brush with egg. (In hindsight I should have brushed the bottoms with egg too, because a couple of them got a little burnt. Now you know).

They are delicious. I bet they would be even more delicious if I had used puff pastry, though. Also, if I had REMEMBERED TO SEASON. Guys. Always remember to season. Duh. Anyway, I consider this a special victory since my first avocado was gross and I had to run out and get another one. (I take back my complaint about Brooklyn grocery establishments…at least there is one I can walk to!) I have a really hard time picking good avocados, so, this is a serious success.

2 thoughts on “Avocado, Cream Cheese & Salsa…Wontons?

    • No problem! I am going to try them again with puff pastry because I definitely think they would be better that way, I just have to find some first! :)

Leave a Reply

